Board Members of Sri Lankan Association of Washington DC

Board of directors of Sri Lanka Association of Washington DC are elected or appointed members who jointly oversee the activities the organization. Every two years we recruit a new Board to govern and guide our organization over the next two years.

Important Contributing Members of the Organization

His Excellency Prasad Kariyawasam
The Ambassador for Sri Lanka to the United States of America

Vice Patrons
Dr.Raj Barr
Mr. Lasantha Dahanaike

Year 2016 - 2017 Board Member's Profiles

Rashika Weerasena
Rashika served as Assistant Secretary, Secretary and President-Elect under previous Boards (although she was unable to fulfill the complete term as President-elect due to moving back to Sri Lanka in Read More
Shiyana Gunasekara
This is Shiyana’s first year on the SLAWDC Board. She is originally from Los Angeles and currently works in education and workforce development policy in D.C. Shiyana recently returned from Read More
Gayani Vithanage
Treasurer (SLAWDC)
Gayani previously served on the SLAWDC Board as Secretary from 2015-2016. She is currently employed with a Property Management Company as a Collection Specialist. Gayani has a background in IT/Accounting Read More
Theja Lowe
Treasurer (SLAWGWA)
Theja was Assistant Secretary SLAWDC in 2015. She is currently employed as Vice President of Human Resources at NMS Healthcare.
Upul Abeywarna
Upul has been a member since 1996 and has served SLAWDC for several years as a Webmaster/Director. He has represented SLAWDC in Cricket. Upul currently works for the Federal Aviation Read More
Ramesh Herath
President Elect
Ramesh has been serving on the Board since 2014 as a Director. In year 2017 he has been appointed as  the President Elect of SLAWDC. He is currently employed with Read More
Rohan Abeysinghe
Rohan has served as a Director since 2013. He currently works as a local staff member at the Embassy of Liberia, Washington DC. Rohan is the Founding President of Sri Read More
Uditha Poddalgoda
Yohan Perera
Assistant Secretary
Lanka Mudannayake